Building your way up

Tell me how this sounds:

<<It was a cold autumn day. I was riding  through the neighborhood on my bike. I was going very, very fast. Then I suddenly saw something.>>

Give me a rating. 1 for horrible, 10 for awesome. Post a comment down there, be honest tell me.

If I were to rate this, I’d give it a -100. That’s right negative one-hundred. It’s terrible. It’s gruesome. It’s shallow. It’s… To bad for words. It’s what a kindergartner would write (don’t get me wrong, kindergarteners have their way of writing😶)

What was the problem? The WORDS! Words are what make up your writing (may it be poetry, a novel or a picture book, etc.) You can’t abuse the words. Once you do, your piece of writing tumbles down. You see, writing is a pyramid (for you history lovers) or a high-technology sky scraper (for you modern writers). Your base: the idea. Your inspiration, your “aha” moment. Then comes the first story: the usual. Character, setting, plot…etc. Without that, your story wouldn’t make any sense, like driving through a dead end street. No use… Next comes: WRITING! Well, what are you waiting for. Just write. Your writing may be great… Or terrible (not to be rude, just being honest). That’s why you need one thing even before the idea (base), you need foundation. The founder, the land you build on (any of those things). Before getting your inspiration, you have to be able to write well. Practice. Try prompts. Get writing. Poetry. A chapter. Something!

So- using

<<It was a cold autumn day. I was riding through the neighborhood on my bike. I was going very, very fast. Then I suddenly saw something.>>

I’m going to make you, one post at a time, a better writer. We’re going to build a story (pyramid/skyscraper… Get it!😉)

Leave a Reply

